Our Team


Atkinson-headshotJohn P. Atkinson, MD
Samuel B. Grant Professor of Medicine
Director, Rheumatology Division, Department of Medicine
Washington University School of Medicine

Recipient of Washington University School of Medicine Distinguished Service Award and the Barnes-Jewish Hospital Lifetime Achievement “Master Physician” Award

Atkinson’s research team initially discovered and named the disease cerebroretinal vasculopathy (CRV). The name has now been changed to retinal vasculopathy with cerebral leukodystrophy (RVCL).

Washington University

Jonathan Miner, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Rheumatology Division

Andria Ford, MD, MSCI
Associate Professor in Neurology, Department of Neurology

M. Gilbert Grand, MD
Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Kathy Liszewski
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Rheumatology Division and Clinical Trials Coordinator

Lynne Mitchell
Senior Scientist, Rheumatology Division

Xiaobo Wu, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Rheumatology Division

Madonna Bogacki
Clinical Research Coordinator, Rheumatology Division

Lorraine Schwartz
Assistant Administrator RVCL Research Center, Rheumatology Division

Around the U.S.

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (UTSW)

Nan Yan, PhD
Principal Investigator UTSW
Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine, Microbiology Department

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Herbert (Sandy) Morse III, MD
Principal Investigator NIH
Chief, Virology and Cellular Immunology Section, Laboratory of Immunogenetics

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

Joanna Jen, MD, PhD
Principal Investigator UCLA
Professor of Neurology, David Geffen School of Medicine